Risk Management Committee

OFFICE OF RECORD: Business Office
ISSUED BY: Vice President for Business & Administrative Services
APPROVED BY: Douglas D. Knowlton                                   04-40-00
EFFECTIVE DATE: 8/12/91 (Revised: 8/19/02)



The Risk Management Committee has two purposes: (1) to promote and advocate a safe and healthy environment for the faculty, staff, and students of Dakota State University and; (2) to identify areas of potential loss and seek to remove those risks in order to avoid future costs. The Risk Management Committee shall develop policies and procedures to carry out these purposes.


The Committee will consist of the following members; The Vice President for Business & Administrative Services (chair), Vice President and Dean for Student Affairs, Director of Human Resources, Director of the Physical Plant, Director of Food Service, Director of Housing, Director of Athletics, a General Faculty representative, a Student Senate representative, and a building maintenance/custodial worker. The faculty and student representatives shall be appointed annually by their governing bodies. The building maintenance/custodial worker shall be appointed annually by the President.

The Committee shall meet at least quarterly and more frequently if determined necessary by the Committee chair.

The minutes of the Committee's meetings shall be distributed to the President, General Faculty Officers, Student Senate Officers, Planning Council, and the Career Service Council, as well as the SD Office of Risk Management.

Last Updated: 1/24/12