Faculty Honored at Legends and Legacy

Four faculty members from Dakota State University will be recognized at the Legends and Legacy Banquet May 1, at the Dakota Prairie Playhouse. The four awards are given annually to recognize excellence in teaching, research, service and advising. Faculty members are nominated by their peers for these awards.

The Dr. Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching is being awarded to Dr. Dale Droge. Droge is a Professor of Biology and Academic Coordinator for Math and Science. He teaches a wide variety of biology courses including general biology, ecology, and zoology. Droge has published papers on lizard ecology, parent-offspring interactions in birds, and habitat associations of birds. He is presently involved in monitoring phosphorus levels in the Lake Herman, Madison and Brant Lake watershed. In addition to his academic commitments, Droge serves on the faculty development committee at DSU and is the university's representative to the state-wide science discipline council. He is a past member of the Board of Directors of the Collaboration for the Advancement of College Teaching and Learning. He serves the community as a member of the Lake Area Watershed Improvement Committee. Droge received bachelors and masters degrees from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and a Ph.D. at the University of Illinois. He has been with the College of Arts and Sciences for 17 years.

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research is being awarded to Dr. Kevin Streff. Streff is an associate professor and Director of the Center for Information Assurance at DSU. The Center has been recognized by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. Streff is founder and managing partner of Secure Banking Solutions, a security consulting firm focused on improving security in community banks across the county. He is also president of InfraGard-South Dakota, a partnership program between private industry and the U.S. Government. Streff frequently speaks nationally on security issues and solutions relevant to small and medium sized banks. He has appeared on television and radio as an expert in his field, and has been the principal investigator in numerous grants received by Dakota State the information assurance area. He teaches both graduate and undergraduate courses at Dakota State, where he has been with the College of Business and Information Systems since 2002.

The DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service is being awarded to Dr. Maureen Murphy.
Murphy is Associate Professor of English with the College of Arts and Sciences. She has a masters degree in English from New Mexico State University and a Ph.D in Communication and Rhetoric from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. She has been at DSU for 6 years, teaching and researching in composition studies and technical communication. Currently Murphy is Director of Writing and of the Online Writing Lab; serves on the Curriculum Committee, the Assessment Committee, the Faculty Development Committee; and is co-chair of the Writing Intensive Committee.

The Alexander "Sandy" Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising is being awarded to Dr. Gabe Mydland. Mydland is an assistant professor in the College of Education. A graduate of the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University, and Augustana College, Mydland teaches introductory psychology and human relations classes. He advises elementary education students and works with a number of other students with academic, career, and/or personal questions in addition to teaching a section of GS 100 for elementary education majors. He serves on the following DSU Committees: Academic Integrity, Admissions, Assessment Coordinating, Capital Campaign, Retention, Black History, is a member of the American Psychological Association and the Association of Family and Conciliation Courts. He has been with Dakota State since 1997.

Tickets for the Legends and Legacy Banquet are available from the DSU Foundation at 256-5693.


Last Updated: 8/12/11