Dakota State Holds Annual Scholarship Banquet

Dakota State University will hold their annual scholarship banquet Monday, November 16 in the Dakota Prairie Playhouse. The banquet brings together students who have received scholarships and the donors who funded the scholarships. Guest speakers at the banquet will include Mike Begeman, Vice President of Public Service at Sanford Health in Sioux Falls, Chris Olson, DSU instructor in the College of Business and Information Systems, and DSU scholarship student recipients Kari Michel and Tyler Van Peursem.

The evening will also include a tribute to Dr. Owen Tommeraasen. Tommeraasen, a long-time Madison optometrist, passed away August 11, 2009. He will be honored posthumously for his service to Dakota State University. He was a former chairman of the Dakota State Foundation Board of Trustees and was instrumental in organizing the first scholarship banquet.

The scholarship banquet takes on added significance during a capital campaign, says Judy Payne, Vice President for University Advancement at Dakota State. “We are asking our donors to invest in Dakota State and it makes the investment much more personal when donors can actually put a face to the students they are helping.” The $37 million capital campaign includes a large scholarship component. “As our fall enrollment numbers show, the best and brightest students are choosing Dakota State. It’s up to us to raise the money to provide these students with the scholarships that they deserve.” Dakota State offers a guaranteed scholarship based on an incoming student’s ACT score. The scholarships are renewable for four years based on the student’s grade point average.

Payne says the students benefit from meeting their donors as well. “The person who gave them the scholarship is no longer a faceless entity, but an actual person and the students can see the value the donors place on their education.”

The DSU Foundation awarded over $995,000 in scholarships for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Last Updated: 8/12/11