DSU Athletic Hall of Fame 2010 Inductees Announced

The 2010 Dakota State University Athletic Hall of Fame inductees have been announced. They will be formally recognized at a banquet June 5 in Madison.

The 2010 inductees are Gene Appelwick, Amy Crissinger, Connie Nyhaug, Al Weisbecker, and the Men’s Cross Country from 1989-1991.

Appelwick played basketball at General Beadle from 1957-1962. He scored over 1300 points in his career and holds the record for a single game scoring of 45 points in February 1960. He continues to be an active participant in the Senior Games.

Crissinger is the Director of Admission at Dakota State and a 1992 graduate. While at Dakota State, Crissinger was a 3 sport athlete and was All Conference in each sport from 1988-1991.

Nyhaug is a 1978 graduate of Dakota State, and an educator with the Viborg School District. She also served as volleyball coach for the Vikings, earning many honors including being named to the South Dakota High School Volleyball Coaches Hall of Fame and National Coach of the Year by the National High School Athletic Coaches Association.

Weisbecker was a coach at Dakota State from 1968-1985 and currently serves as the throwing coach for the DSU track team. He is also chair of the Senior Games. Weisbecker was an assistant coach for the Hall of Fame Boot Hill Bowl team and was part of the 1977 undefeated Trojan football team under head coach Gary Buer.

The Cross Country Team being honored earned three straight SDIC Conference Championships in 1989-1991. The team was coached by Buzz Stevenson. Members of the team received individual honors including All Conference, All District, and National Qualifier.

The Hall of Fame Banquet will be held June 5 at the Dakota Prairie Playhouse. The event is open to the public. For more information, contact DSU Athletics at 605-256-5229.

Last Updated: 1/12/12