DSU Teams Participate in Roger D. Larsen Memorial Golf ClassicNik Larson with Dr. Knowlton

Teams of golfers representing Dakota State University recently participated in the Annual Roger D. Larsen Benefit Golf Classic at Minnehaha Country Club in Sioux Falls, May 24.  The annual event is sponsored by the Sioux Falls Skyforce's Sky's the Limit Youth Foundation in support of various philanthropic organizations that were of interest to Larsen.

Larsen was a 1970 graduate of Dakota State, and was a member of the Sioux Falls Skyforce ownership group from 1993-99 and again in 2001. Larsen died unexpectedly in 2002. 

A portion of the money raised in the tournament each year is donated to Dakota State University for the Roger D. Larsen Memorial Scholarship Endowment.  "The Skyforce organization is proud to provide scholarships to DSU students while honoring a man who did so much for so many in his lifetime." said Skyforce owner/president Mike Heineman. The Heinemans and the Sioux Falls Skyforce were honored in 2010 as Philanthropists of the Year by the Dakota State University Foundation. 

Judy Payne, Vice President for Advancement at Dakota State, says the level of support from the Heinemans and the Skyforce over the years has helped many DSU students achieve their higher education goals. This year, five $2,150 Presidential Champion Scholarships were awarded from the Sky's the Limit Foundation and the Roger D. Larsen Endowment.  "We face competition for students who qualify for the Presidential level of Champion Scholars and we want those students to choose Dakota State.  Donors such as the Heinemans and the Sky's the Limit Foundation allow us to reward talented students for their academic achievements, and help us attract the best and brightest to DSU." 

Dakota State teams have golfed in the classic since its inception, but this is the largest group to participate from the university.  Pictured right are Nik Larson, son of the late Roger Larson, and DSU President Dr. Doug Knowlton.

Golfing on the DSU teams:

Dave Anderson, DSU Alum, DSU Athletic Development Officer
Josh Anderson, Head DSU Football Coach
Dean Berry, Head DSU Baseball Coach
Larry Canfield, DSU Alum, National Co-Chair DSU 2.0 Capital Campaign, DSU Foundation Board of Trustees member
Deb Evans, Friend of DSU
Gary Garner, Head DSU Men's Basketball Coach
Dave Geiver, DSU Alum, DSU Board of Trustees member
Becky Halma, DSU Board of Trustees member
Wayne Halma, Madison businessman
Doug Jerlow, DSU Alum, DSU Alumni Association Board member
Stacy Krusemark, DSU VP of Business and Administrative Services
Dan Meadows, DSU Alum, National Co-Chair DSU 2.0 Capital Campaign, DSU Board of Trustees Member
Eric Olson, Friend of DSU
Wayne Pauli, DSU Alum, DSU Board of Trustees member, DSU faculty member
Tracy Pardy, DSU 2.0 Capital Campaign Director
Judy Payne, DSU Alum, DSU VP for Advancement
Alice Poppen, Chair, DSU Foundation Board of Trustees
Maury Poppen, DSU Alum
Jerry Prostrollo, Madison businessman
Danielle Rosheim, DSU Alum
Floyd Rummel, DSU Alum, DSU Board of Trustees member
Randy Schaefer, DSU Alum, DSU Board of Trustees member
Fran Shupick, DSU Alum


Last Updated: 1/12/12