Legislators to See Student Research Work First Hand

Dakota State University’s Lisa Chase is among 17 undergraduate students presenting their work at the state Capitol, and meeting with lawmakers and the public.

Chase, a senior exercise science major from Salem, is participating in the2010 Student Research Poster Session that runs from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Thursday February 11 in the State Capitol Rotunda.

The 17 represent students statewide who are pursuing research in a variety of disciplines. “The work of these student researchers is nationally competitive,” said Gary Johnson, system vice president of research for the South Dakota Board of Regents. “Their excellent work demonstrates firsthand the important linkages between research and a quality higher education experience.”

Now in its 13th year, the poster session features a small number of students from public, private, and tribal colleges, who earned this special opportunity to present their research to legislators. In addition to the students’ research, there will be displays from the state’s six public universities, the South Dakota Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN), and South Dakota’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR). These higher education institutions and programs have greatly benefited from the state’s investments in research, Johnson said.

The students chosen to participate in Thursday’s event are:

• Lisa Chase, Salem, representing Dakota State University

• Jess Moser, Gregory, representing Black Hills State University

• Toni A. Fritz, Pembina, N.D., representing Northern State University

• Nathan Huft, Pierre; Eric Young, Aberdeen; Tyler Blumenthal, Rapid City; and Kevin Gray, Gillette, Wyo.; representing South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

• Tara Jeatran, Menomonie, Wis., and Diane Narem, Milbank, representing South Dakota State University

• Heather Fluit, Sioux Falls, and Adam Bledsoe, Aberdeen, representing The University of South Dakota

• Alan Sazama, Harrisburg, and Haley Gorby, West Fargo, N.D., representing the University of Sioux Falls and BRIN

• Helene Gaddie, Wanblee; Michael Thompson, Rapid City; and Elisha Yellow Thunder, Oglala, representing Oglala Lakota College and EPSCoR

• Micheal L. Millard Sr., Mission, representing Sinte Gleska University and EPSCoR

Last Updated: 1/12/12