Dakota State Commencement May 8

Dakota State University will hold spring commencement Saturday, May 8. Commencement exercises will begin at 10:30am in the DSU Fieldhouse.

Dakota State will be awarding 165 undergraduate, 28 graduate, and 2 doctoral degrees.

Commencement Speaker is Kendall Stork, Site President of Citibank (South Dakota.), N.A. Stork was named to the position in November 1999. In this role, he is responsible for two legal vehicles and the Sioux Falls site. In addition, he is also functionally responsible for Customer Service Paper and Electronic and is the O&T Senior Relationship Manager for the Student Loan Corporation. Stork began his career at Citibank South Dakota after spending 12 years with IBP where he held various positions in finance, accounting and operations. He joined Citibank in 1988 as Director of Finance. In 1991, Stork was appointed Director of Security Operations where he led the de-engineering and re-engineering efforts in various fraud processes. In 1997, Stork's responsibilities were expanded to include broader aspects of customer service. In this role, he is responsible for processing at several sites in the United States, Canada and India across multiple credit card and student loan portfolios. Stork is a native of Fremont, Nebraska, and is a graduate of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Dr. Joseph Gertsema will be honored as Distinguished Alumnus. Gertsema is a 1972 graduate of Dakota State with a degree in business education and social studies. He also earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education from the University of Sioux Falls, a master's in elementary administration from Mankato State University, and an Ed.D. in educational administration from the University of South Dakota. Dr. Gertsema has served as superintendent of Yankton Public Schools since 1990. He served as superintendent of Canton School District from 1987-90, elementary principal for Horace Mann Elementary School in Sioux Falls from 1985-87, and elementary and middle school principal for West Central Schools in Hartford from 1977-85. He taught elementary school and coached at Adrian, Minnesota, for five years prior to moving into administration. His work in education has been recognized with several awards, including being named elementary teacher of the year at Adrian in 1975, the Outstanding Administrator Award in 1986 and South Dakota Superintendent of the Year for 2000-2001. Dr. Gertsema is active in numerous community and professional organizations. He is past president of the South Dakota School Superintendents Association and currently serves on the executive committee of the American Association of School Administrators.

Dale E. Kringen will be recognized with the Distinguished Service Award. Kringen earned his teaching degree from Dakota State (then General Beadle State Teacher's College) in 1957 and completed his master's degree in education from South Dakota State University in 1960. After graduation, he served as a teacher, coach and high school principal at Ruthton, Minnesota. He then served as superintendent at Alexandria, South Dakota, from 1961-63. Kringen left education to become a sales representative for Scott Foresmen Publishing of Illinois. He later became a partner in an International Harvester dealership in Storm Lake, Iowa. He served as director of South Dakota Job Service from 1979-1983. In 1983 he became president of a group of transportation companies which he now headquarters in Madison. Kringen was a strong supporter of Dakota State while serving in the South Dakota Legislature from 1993-96 and has continued his support through many volunteer hours to promote alumni and fund raising activities of the university. He served as president of the DSU Foundation from 1993-2005. He was recognized as an Outstanding DSU Alumnus at Homecoming 1997 and served as the Homecoming parade marshal in 2005. He and wife, Kitty, currently serve as honorary chairs of the DSU 2.0 Capital Campaign.

Janice K. Nicolay will be recognized with the Distinguished Service Award. Nicolay earned her teaching degree at Northern State University in 1963 and her master's in education from South Dakota State University in 1971. She has devoted her teaching and administrative career to serving the field of education in South Dakota, with the majority of her time spent in the Sioux Falls School District. In 1963, she began her first teaching job at Edison Junior High. She later taught language arts and government at Washington High School. In 1983, she became assistant principal at Patrick Henry Junior High, and in 1988, became principal at Washington High School. While at Washington, she started the Irving Alternative School, and served as principal at both schools. She then served as principal at Roosevelt High School for two years prior to her retirement in 1998. She worked for Governor Janklow in the Department of Corrections and started the Watertown Home for Girls (it has since closed), was director of West Farm for Boys, and was principal of Plankinton Training School. In 2001, she served as the Interim Director for Southeast Technical Institute. Nicolay served as a state representative from 1983-1996, where she served as chair of the House Appropriations Committee from 1987-96. She was appointed to the South Dakota Board of Education in 2004. She has been active in several professional organizations at the state and national level, has served on numerous boards in the Sioux Falls area, and has served as a CASA volunteer for eight years.

Last Updated: 1/12/12