New Scholarship Endowment at DSU

Scholarship donation East River Electric Power Cooperative of Madison has made a $25,000 gift to DSU 2.0, The Capital Campaign, and through the efforts of Jeff Nelson, General Manager at East River, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, Bismarck, ND is matching the gift. The gifts are being used to establish the East River and Basin Electric Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Scholarship Endowment at Dakota State. The endowment will assist students from electric cooperatives' membership. East River is a member of Basin Electric, one of the nation's largest electric generation and transmission (G&T) cooperatives. Both utilities are members of the Touchstone Energy cooperative network.

Administrative Services Manager Liz Avery presented the check to Vice President for University Advancement Judy Payne. Avery says establishing the scholarship is fitting since Touchstone Energy cooperatives have always been an integral part of the communities they serve. "In addition to providing reliable electricity, they support a variety of charities, promote community and economic development, and sponsor a variety of local and regional events."

Payne acknowledged the gift by remarking on the ties that Dakota State has with local and area businesses. "This donation by East River and Basin Electric underscores both our commitments to promoting a well-educated work force in South Dakota and the region. Any time we can help a student achieve their higher education goal, we help secure their future."

Students who are members, or whose families are members, and receive their electric power from a rural electric cooperative are eligible for the scholarship. The student must be a junior or senior who demonstrates academic excellence and leadership abilities, with preference given to students who display civic and community involvement. All other factors being equal, the student who appears to have the greatest financial need shall be given priority.

Pictured:  DSU Vice President for Advancement Judy Payne receives the scholarship donation from Administrative Services Manager Liz Avery

Last Updated: 1/10/12