DSU alum named SD Teacher of the Year

Mitchell middle-school teacher, Patrick Moller, has been selected as the 2012 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made during the Systems Change Conference banquet on Oct. 22 in Spearfish. Moller is a 2003 math education graduate from Dakota State.

Moller obtained multiple grants for use in his classroom, including the National Education Association's Innovation Grant and most recently the Teachers and Technology grant. Moller also presented at this fall's Midwest Regional Middle Level Conference in Nebraska. Moller also coaches middle-school boys' basketball in Mitchell.

"It is clearly evident that Pat is willing to give 110 percent for every single one of his students," said SD Secretary of Education, Melody Schopp. "His enthusiasm for his students and his profession are a shining example."

A panel of education experts selected Moller from six regional finalists. The finalists included Nicole Gardner-Fink, Sioux Falls; Susan Karels, Milbank; Thomas Keck, Rapid City; Darcey Mollman, Faith; and Katey Lee Swank, Todd County.

Moller receives use of a new car for one year, a technology package valued at more than $14,000 for use in his classroom, cash awards and more. The generosity of private businesses and organizations make these prize packages possible. In addition, he will represent South Dakota as a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year award.

The National Teacher of Year Program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program focusing public attention on excellence in teaching. The National Teacher of the Year is announced during a Washington, D.C., ceremony each April.

Last Updated: 1/10/12