Faculty recognized at Legends and Legacy Banquet

Dakota State University faculty members were recognized at the annual Legends and Legacy Banquet March 1. The four were selected by their peers for Faculty Excellence Awards. Individual donors sponsor the awards, designed to highlight teaching, service, advising, and research.

Thomas Jones, professor in the College of Arts and Science, received the Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching. He teaches in the areas of photography, Faculty recognizedcomputer graphics, and K-12 art methods. He developed one of the most popular minors on campus and can be seen at many DSU events with his students, capturing the images with their cameras. His students benefit from the hands on experience, as well as Jones’ efforts to stay informed on the latest photographic technology.

The Merrill D. Hunter Award for Excellence in Research recipient was Dr. Kristel Bakker. Bakker is an Associate Professor of Biology in the College of Arts and Sciences. She was honored for her commitment to research, which is among the most highly regarded in her field. Bakker is an expert in the area of conservation of grassland birds, an author, presenter, mentor, and reviewer. Her contributions to the field of research in avian ecology have led to grants, are recorded in peer journals, and have been presented at several national and international meetings.

Dr. Gale Wiedow was awarded the DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service. Wiedow is an associate professor of physical education and exercise science in the College of Education. His career in education has spanned over 40 years, and includes numerous leadership positions on campus, and in professional organizations. His service in those organizations benefits the university and the students through the exchange of knowledge and networking contacts.

Dr. Barbara Szczerbinska received the Alexander ‘Sandy’ Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising. Szczerbinska is a physics professor in the College of Arts and Science. She urges students to explore science as a career, focusing primarily on Women in Science and Technology (WIST), an organization that encourages female students to enter the science field.   Szczerbinska serves as a role model for students through her work on various state, national and international science projects.

Former DSU faculty member Tom Farrell was named the 2012 Faculty Legend. The evening also included presentation of certificates and plaques to donors who made gifts to the annual fund in 2011 or who reached various levels in their lifetime giving. Madison attorney and former South Dakota state legislator Jerome Lammers was inducted into the DSU Innovators and Influencers Hall of Fame.
Last Updated: 3/15/12