Campus and Community Representatives to Participate in DSU Presidential Search

A group of 12 people will assist the South Dakota Board of Regents in its search for the next president of Dakota State University, serving as campus and community representatives on the presidential search and screen committee.

“We greatly value the input we receive from these campus and community leaders,” said Regent Harvey Jewett, who will chair the search process at Dakota State. Other regents serving on the search committee are Randy Schaefer, Carole Pagones, and Kathryn Johnson.

Named as campus and community representatives and the constituencies they represent are:

  • Community-DeLon Mork, owner of Dairy Queen, Madison
  • DSU Foundation-Larry Canfield, CEO of Canfield Companies, Sioux Falls
  • Alumni-Michael Halverson, global senior vice president for information security administration at Citibank, Sioux Falls
  • Administration-Omar El-Gayar, professor and dean of graduate studies and research
  • Career Service Employees-Susan Eykamp, distance education specialist
  • Non-Faculty Exempt Employees-Margaret (Peg) O’Brien, associate professor and director of extended programs
  • Faculty-Jack Walters, associate professor of business management; Amit Vijay Deokar, assistant professor of information systems
  • Students-Sara Irvine, sophomore exercise science major and vice president of the DSU Student Senate, whose hometown is Tea; Eric Schwandt, junior marketing/management major and vice president of Delta Mu Delta Honor Society, whose hometown is Sioux Falls
  • Institutional Collaboration-Robert Wharton, president of South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • Member At-Large-Tammy Miller, CEO of Madison Community Hospital

Douglas Knowlton left in February to take a higher education position in Minnesota, after serving eight years as DSU’s president. David B. Borofsky is serving as interim president at Dakota State and is not a candidate for the permanent position.

Last Updated: 5/17/12