Larsen Golf Tournament Raises Money for DSU Scholarships

The 11th Annual Roger D. Larsen Benefit Golf Tournament was held May 21 at the Minnehaha Country Club in Sioux Falls, S.D. The tournament is sponsored by the Sky’s the Limit Youth Foundation in support of various philanthropic foundations that were of interest to Roger Larsen. 

The Skyforce’s Sky’s the Limit Youth Foundation has gifted approximately $124,000 of tournament proceeds to DSU in memory of Roger Larsen, DSU Class of ’70. Larsen, one of the owners of the Skyforce, died unexpectedly in 2002. Greg Heineman, a partner of Larsen’s in Williams Insurance and the Sioux Falls Skyforce, started the tournament and established the Roger D. Larsen Memorial Scholarship Endowment at DSU following Larsen’s death.

DSU Vice President for University Advancement Judy Payne and others from the university made up six teams that participated in the tournament. “We have been able to help many DSU students through the generosity of the Sioux Falls Skyforce.” said Payne. “I am especially grateful to Skyforce owners Mike and Greg Heineman for honoring Roger by continuing to support his alma mater through this tournament.”

Representing DSU in the tournament were Payne, DSU President David Borofsky, DSU faculty members Wayne Pauli and Josh Pauli, DSU coaches Gary Garner and Josh Anderson, DSU Director of Athletic Development Nate Welch, DSU Events Coordinator Donna Fawbush, DSU Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Alice Poppen, Vice Chair Floyd Rummel and trustees Becky Halma, Randy Schaefer, and Dave Geiver, along with DSU alumni and friends including State Senator Russ Olson, Maury Poppen, Scott Namanny, Tom Issenhuth, Monie Issenhuth, Brian Kringen, Dick Fawbush, Bob Van Liere, Fran Shupick, and Jason Schmidt.

First PREMIER BANK/PREMIER Bankcard, led by DSU alum Miles Beacom, CEO, sponsored the dinner after the tournament.

The tournament also featured live and silent auctions. This is the third year that Payne has golfed in the tournament as part of the Advancement team from DSU. “It was a fun event, but more importantly, an event in memory of a wonderful man, that raised money for a great cause,” commented Payne. “Having known Roger, I can say I know he would be happy to be supporting DSU.”


Pictured near the General Beadle statue on the DSU campus is Floyd Rummel, winner of closest to the pin prize. He is pictured  along with State Senator Russ Olson, sponsor of the  2nd Flight, 1st place prizing winning team, and team members Brian Kringen, and Josh Anderson. Team member not pictured -Randy Schaefer.

Last Updated: 11/1/12