Dakota State University names Cyber Corps Scholars

The DSU Cyber Corps Scholars are made up of cyber security undergraduate and graduate students who have achieved a 3.25 GPA, enrolled in a cyber security program at DSU, and are selected for their leadership and commitment to Dakota State.

These students are awarded a full-ride academic scholarship and a $20,000-30,000 stipend for the academic year. The scholarship is renewable for up to three years. During the summer the Cyber Corps students complete internships at a Federal, State, Local, or Tribal government agency related to cyber security.

After graduation, the Cyber Corps members work for a government agency for 2-3 years in exchange for the total years of scholarship awarded. The DSU Cyber Corps will be in Washington, DC January 8-10, 2014 for a Job Fair with Federal Government agencies to assist with internship and full-time career placement.

The DSU Cyber Corps is funded by grants from the Nation Science Foundation and the Department of Defense under the direction of Dr. Josh Pauli, Associate Professor of Cyber Operations at DSU.  

The current members of the DSU Cyber Corps are listed below with their hometown:

Darius Garvin, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Kevin Haubris, Peever, S.D.

Michael Hunhoff, Yankton, S.D.

Chad Mitzel, Herreid, S.D.

Nicholas Penning, Hulett, Wyo.

Kristopher Schneider, Hoisington, Kan.

Alex Barutt, Graceville, Minn.

Tyler Flaagan, West Fargo, N.D.

Zach Fuerst, Tripp, S.D.

Christen Hahn, Hartford, S.D.

Bryce Haviland, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Bill Hofer, Pierre, S.D.

Christopher Paschen, Clark, S.D.

Rebecca Stevens, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Cody Welu, Milroy, Minn.

Joel Wohnoutka, Luverne, Minn.

Shawn Zwach, Tracy, Minn.

Last Updated: 12/10/13