Beacom and faculty honored at DSU

Dakota State University held the ninth annual Legends and Legacy dinner on May 2.  The dinner is held to honor donors to the university and to present faculty and professional excellence awards. The dinner is hosted by the Dakota State Foundation and was sponsored this year by Aramark.

Donors were recognized for their gifts to the annual fund at DSU with plaques and certificates. New members of the lifetime giving societies were honored with special collages.

Retired DSU faculty members, Terry and Lynn Ryan, were presented with the Faculty Legend Award. This award is given to former faculty members who have given a lifetime of service to education. The Ryans came to Dakota State in 1975. Terry served as Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students during his tenure. Lynn was a member of the English faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences and served as the advisor to the international students. Terry retired from DSU in 2003, Lynn in 2010. They are contributors to both academic and athletic scholarships at the university.

Receiving the faculty awards were Dr. Patrick Engebretson, Giles Timms, Dr. John Nelson, and Dr. Stacey Berry. Recipients are nominated by their peers at DSU.

Dr. Patrick Engebretson received the Dr. Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award is sponsored by DSU Academic Vice President Dr. Judy Dittman. Engebretson is an assistant professor in the College of Business and Information Systems. He is the author of two books on hacking, and is a founding member of the North Central Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition, where DSU students are always among the top performers. He is also the recipient of the first doctor of science degree awarded by Dakota State.

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research was awarded to Giles Timms, assistant professor of animation in the College of Arts and Sciences. The award is sponsored by the Jon Hunter family in honor of his late father, Merrill. Giles is an animator, filmmaker, and illustrator. His work has been featured in music videos, documentaries, and was screened at the Sundance Film Festival and on PBS and HBO.

The DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service was awarded to Dr. John Nelson. The award is sponsored by DeLon Mork in honor of his late father, DeWayne. John is a professor of English for new media in the College of Arts and Sciences. His work on campus includes serving on dissertation committees, serving as chair of the faculty and on numerous campus committees. His service extends to the community as he was a member of the Lake County Historical Society and hosted the Great Plain Chautauqua in Madison. John is a publish poet and organizes and participates in poetry slams on campus and in the area.

Dr. Stacey Berry was awarded the Alexander “Sandy” Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising. The award is sponsored by Sandy’s two daughters, Jennifer Weatherill and Barbara Harmdierks. Stacey is an assistant professor of English for new media in the College of Arts and Sciences. Her focus on extending learning beyond the classroom has provided her students opportunities to attend national conferences, poetry readings, film screenings and museum tours. She is a founding member of The Alliance at DSU, a student-led organization for LGBTQ students and their straight allies. She is also a member of the Diversity Committee and has served on the First-year Intervention Team.

The final award of the evening, Philanthropists of the Year, was presented to Miles and Lisa Beacom. The Beacom’s gift to Dakota State in 2013 was the largest private gift in the university’s history and will be used to establish the Beacom Institute of Technology. Miles is a 1981 graduate of Dakota State and is the President and CEO of First PREMIER Bankcard. He also serves on the DSU Foundation Board of Trustees, the Board of Directors of the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation and several other boards. Together, Miles and Lisa have contributed to United Way, Children’s Home Society, Ronald McDonald House, Crazy Horse, Make-a-Wish and many others. They have three daughters and live in Sioux Falls.

Left to Right: Dr. Patrick Engebretson, Dr. John Nelson, Dr. Stacey Berry and Giles Timms

Last Updated: 5/8/14