DSU Phi Beta Lambda team wins Top Chapter award

A team of student officers and members from Dakota State University had an impressive showing at the Iowa Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) Spring Leadership Conference earlier last month at Upper Iowa University in Fayette, Iowa on April 11 and 12.  When it was all over, DSU took home the Top Chapter award for the first time, breaking a seven-year winning streak by the host chapter.

At this regional conference, 120 students from twelve colleges and universities in the region compete to qualify in a wide range academic, skill, and performance events for the national conference held each summer.

This year, DSU took home 26 awards.  These include eleven 1st Place awards, six 2nd Place awards, and three 3rd Place awards along with six other top finishes.  As a result of this great performance, DSU had twelve students qualify to complete at the National PBL Conference this summer in Nashville, TN.

In addition to winning Chapter of the Year, DSU’s chapter was awarded 1st place for the Largest Percentage Increase in Local Chapter Membership, 36% from 2013 to 2014.

The following DSU students attended the Iowa PBL Spring Leadership Conference: Andrew Van Demark, Craig Marquis, Megan Pifer, Austin Vogt, Rigoberto Aguirre, Andy Behrens, Chris Beadles, Emily Blackwelder, Tyler Erickson, Megan Putnam, and Amanda Rajd.  In addition, three students participated in online testing but could not attend the conference: Casey Bethke, Kelly Brusven, and Kristina Gakin.  Advisor Dan Talley also attended the conference.

About DSU Phi Beta Lambda (PBL)

DSU Phi Beta Lambda is the local chapter of a national organization that allows students to develop business leadership skills, promotes professional and ethical conduct, and provides opportunities to demonstrate academic excellence. PBL is the collegiate-level counterpart to Future Business Leaders of America.  DSU PBL is open to all majors and is located in the College of Business and Information Systems.

Last Updated: 5/8/14