DSU professor and program receive recognition at PENworks Annual ConferenceRenae-Spohn-Pen-award.jpg

DSU assistant professor, Renae Spohn, received recognition at the 2014 Performance Excellence Network (PENworks) annual conference held April 14 and 15 in Brooklyn Center, Minn. Spohn received a certificate of recognition for successfully leading a Health Information Management program self-assessment process at DSU in partnership with PENworks and the National Council for Performance Excellence.

The self-assessment was a part of DSU’s faculty research initiative grant that Spohn received in 2013 to study how Health Information Management programs throughout the U.S. can use the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award criteria to routinely assess and improve outcomes. In late 2013, Spohn was selected to serve as a PENworks evaluator for one year. She completed Baldrige 101 and 201 training, evaluator training and consensus training. In addition, she has participated in the review of one application including completion of an independent review, a team consensus review, and a team on-site evaluation using the Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award criteria.

PENworks serves as a non-profit, membership based organization that builds networks and helps leaders navigate various pathways and routes in pursuit of performance excellence by utilizing the Malcolm Bladrige National Quality Award Criteria. PENworks covers the states of South Dakota, North Dakota and Minnesota. The annual conference is held to share best practices of local, regional and national organizations on leadership effectiveness, strategic planning, use of measures/data, and operational performance. These include businesses, healthcare organizations, educational institutions and nonprofits.

“Attending the PENworks conference gave me the opportunity to learn from other organizations about their best practices when applying the Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award Criteria within their organizations on their journey to excellence,” said Spohn.

Four of the keynote speakers for the conference were Baldrige award winners including: Larry Potterfield, CEO of Midway USA, 2009 Baldrige recipient;  JoAnn Sternke, Superintendent of Pewaukee Public Schools, 2013 Baldrige recipient; Janet Wagner, CEO of Sutter Davis Hospital, 2013 Baldrige recipient; and Rulon Stacey, CEO of Fairview Health Systems, 2008 Baldrige recipient.

Last Updated: 8/4/14